Content

Museen Haus Lange und Haus Esters

House Lange and house Esters were constructed in 1928/1930 as private villas of the textile entrepreneurs Hermann Lange and Dr. Josef Esters. The architect was none other than Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, who had created various gems of modern architecture here. The ensemble of brick-built villas communicates the typical interaction of spatial harmony, openness and material rigour that is so typical of the Bauhaus architect. From 1955 on, Haus Lange (which was donated by the Lange family in 1968) serves as a branch of the Kaiser Wilhelm Museum. Since the beginning it has included contemporary art, for example with Yves Klein, Arman or Christo, in its programme. The first exhibition is opened at Haus Esters in 1981. Today the museums are internationally important sites in the contemporary art scene, while also attracting lovers of architecture from all over the world.

Adress

Wilhelmshofallee 91 - 97
47800 Krefeld
Telephone: 0 21 51 / 97 55 80

Open to the public

Open only for exhibitions

Gastronomy

Stadtwaldhaus with beer garden
Hüttenallee 108
47800 Krefeld
Telephone: 0 21 51 / 59 37 84